Transitioning to
Online Introductory Math


Ithaka S+R and TPSE Math are grateful to Carnegie Corporation of New York for their generous support of this project.

The authors are deeply grateful to David Kung (Director of Strategy & Implementation at TPSE Math and Professor of Mathematics at St. Mary’s College and Maryland), Scott Wolpert (Senior Consultant at TPSE Math and Professor of Mathematics at University of Maryland, College Park), and Katherine Stevenson (Professor of Mathematics at California State University, Northridge) for their partnership and guidance throughout the project.

In addition, the authors would like to especially thank the following individuals for offering their time to review drafts of the report and sharing valuable insights and feedback which have been incorporated into the final version of the resource guide.

  • Abbe Herzig, Director of Education at the American Mathematical Society (AMS)
  • Rachel Levy, Deputy Executive Director of the Mathematical Association of American (MAA)
  • Chris Rasmussen, Professor of Mathematics Education at San Diego State University
  • Nancy Sattler, Former President of the American Mathematical Association of Two-Year Colleges (AMATYC), Dean Emerita & Adjunct Faculty of Mathematics at Terra Community College

The authors would like to further thank Joann Kozyrev and Josie Rodriguez of the Western Governors University and Gwendolyn Britton, Matthew Belanger, and Jaymes Myers of the Southern New Hampshire University for contributing their time to share additional details about their institutions’ online course development strategies and processes. The authors also acknowledge the many members of the MAA Connect, POD Network Google Group, and TPSE Math communities for recommending resources intended to support the transition to hybrid or online learning in introductory math in higher education.

Lastly, the authors would like to acknowledge the TPSE Math Board members and Ithaka S+R leadership team for their support and guidance. In particular, the contributions of Philip Griffiths, William (Brit) Kirwan, Beth Brainard from TPSE Math and Catharine (Cappy) Bond Hill, Martin Kurzweil, and Rayane Alamuddin were instrumental in bringing this project to fruition.